Subscribe with us

FEC approves Establishment of 6 Private Universities

The Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the establishment of six Private Universities on Wednesday including a naval university in Delta state.

Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu announced this while briefing the State House press corps at the end of the FEC meeting presided over by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo.

Adamu stated that the approvals came as a result of the memo submitted to the FEC by the education ministry.

The universities include Admiralty University in Ibusa, Delta state, owned by the Naval Holding Company; Spiritan University in Nneochi, Abia State; and Precious Cornerstone University in Ibadan, Oyo State.

Also approved are PAMO University of Medical Sciences, Port Harcourt, Rivers State; Atibe University in Oyo town, Oyo State; and Eko University of Medical and Health Sciences, Lagos.

The Minister also said more applications were received by the ministry and will later be presented to the council for approval and that the FEC has directed the National Universities Commission (NUC) to look into the quality of courses offered by new and existing universities in the country.

The Education Minister also said the government will withdraw the registration of any university that fails to meet the standard set of courses being offered.


Rate this item
(2 votes)

Post comment as a guest



  • No comments found

Trending Videos

Trending Music

Sport Video

10 Common words Nigerians use daily that don't appear in the dictionary

1. Go-slow: When Nigerians say go-slow, they mean congested traffic, which is wrong. The meaning of go-slow in the English dictionary is, a form of industrial action in which work or progress is deliberately delayed or slowed down.
Read more

Go to top